Jake’s Custom Pro Shop – El Segundo, CA

Sorry for the short hiatus.  I was in California last week and stumbled upon this LHS (Local Hockey Shop) through @Projekt29 on Twitter while I tried to hunt down a Bauer HS22 Pro Straight Visor (you can no longer find these in Canada… only the RBE I and the new HS23.)

 

On my way to LAX (that’s the Los Angeles Airport for those unfamiliar) I made a pit stop here to check it out.  Run by Jake Pote and his staff, Jake’s Custom Pro Shop is the place to find hockey equipment.  Like the name says, they do custom work.  If you need new palms on your gloves, want the cuffs shortened/extended, change the holders on your skates, the list goes on, bring them by and Jake will do it right.

Not only do they carry retail equipment but they also sell Pro Stock gear directly from the LA Kings! Sticks, gloves, socks, helmets, goalie gear, you name it, they probably have it.  The staff are very knowledgeable and I had an awesome time just talking to them about equipment.  If I didn’t have a flight to catch I could have chatted them up for the rest of the day.

If you are in the LA area, check them out at:

630 N. Sepulveda Blvd.

Suite 13A

El Segundo, CA 90245

You can also give them a call at (310) 322-5253 or visit their website at www.JakesHockey.com

Whether you are looking for game used equipment for your personal collection or simply looking for pro gear to play with, Jake’s is your place.  Don’t forget they also do alterations and custom work, you won’t find that at the big box stores!

Oh, and that visor I never did find it.  I went to three different shops that day and everybody was sold out of the HS22 Pro Straight Clear.  The closest I found was the Mirrored one, but wearing one of those is the same as painting a big target on your back.

– M

2 Responses to “Jake’s Custom Pro Shop – El Segundo, CA”

  1. hi, thanks for your review, Im staying near the LAX but wonder if there’s any way for me to get to Jake’s store? Do you know any bus which goes there? Please let me know! thanks again!

    • Sorry we are not from the LA area so we would not be proficient in providing directions to their store. While we were there we rented a car and relied on a GPS. I’m sure if you did a quick search on LA’s Transit System or gave Jake’s a call ahead of time they could better answer your question. I think Google Maps is providing Bus directions now too?

      – M

Leave a Reply

