Initial Thoughts: CCM V10 Helmet

I got a hold of a set of Manitoba Moose helmet stickers and that was enough justification for me to go out and purchase a new helmet and make use of it.  While the majority of the AHL is outfitted in Reebok and CCM helmets, I decided to get the same model as my favorite Moose player, #52 Sergei Shirokov.

The CCM V10 is similar fit to my existing helmet, the NBH 5500, and I love EPP and memory foam so it was perfect.

Since this is Pro Stock Nation, I wanted to make this retail helmet look as pro stock as possible.  Excuse the messy desk.

Front shot: Just your average CCM V10… White, Medium.


Side Shot:

Time to cover up the ugly CCM branding on the sides and rip off that cheap looking “10” sticker.

Back shot:

I always remove the size, CE and warning stickers, they make the helmet look way too busy.

Shirokov uses a Bauer HS22 Pro Straight but you won’t imagine how hard it is nowadays to track this model down.  They are now banned for sale in Canada (you can only get the HS23 which looks totally different) and I went to three different shops in California which had none in stock.  I ended up mounting an Oakley Pro Modified visor to this helmet since I stocked up a few years ago and had spares lying around.

I brought my helmet and visor to my LHS to get mounted since I did not have the necessary screws and spacers available.  Tip: If you guys ever get work done at your local shop, make sure you are not in a rush.  Unfortunately I was in a hurry that day so when the employee showed me my visor mounted to the helmet, I didn’t double-check anything.  After I left the shop I took a closer look when I got home and turns out they over-torqued the visor and cracked it.  I won’t drop any names at this moment but it was my first time getting work done at this particular shop just because it was close to my work and I am not impressed.

The CCM logos on the side are covered up with the Advance Electronics stickers.  If you look closely you can see the crack from the top screw mount to the top of the visor.

The back looks much cleaner now with all the unnecessary stickers removed.  The only two stickers I was not able to use were the AHL 75th Anniversary and the Can/Am stickers because on a Pro helmet they would be located where the HECC and CSA stickers are on the retail counterparts.  Removing these two stickers are a no-no.

Aesthetics aside, how does it perform so far?

Like I mentioned earlier, the fit is similar to the NBH 5500 so for those of you with more oval shaped heads, this helmet may be suitable for you.  The helmet is one of the lightest I have used, obviously not to the same extreme as the Easton S19 but at half the price it holds it’s own very well.

The ventilation on this helmet is excellent, you can actually hear the wind being channeled through the helmet as you skate.

The only con I have about it so far is the amount of sweat that runs down your face when you’re sitting idle on the bench.  While EPP foam helmets are more notorious for this compared to lets say, VN foams, this helmet is much more prone to it.  While it isn’t a major problem it still is a small inconvenience.

Before I go too in depth into a review on the helmet I’ll give it a few more ice times.  I just wanted to show off the Moose stickers for now.

Until next time!

If you like what we’re doing, please like us on Facebook @ http://www.Facebook.com/ProStockNation  We will be giving away a free Reebok Hockey hat on May 14 @ Midnight!

– M

6 Responses to “Initial Thoughts: CCM V10 Helmet”

  1. I now use the V08, and have used the rbk 8k, bauer 5000, nike 0004, bauer 4000/4500, mission intake vn pro, ccm t500 or whatever its called and of course the v10, and out of all of these i can say the worst i have used has been the 5000 and the v10, the v10 is worse than the 5000 it feels like a vice grip has been put on my head and after two shifts i had the worst migraine i started getting double vision on my right eye, i took the helmet off and smashed it on the zamboni door and bout a new one. The worst helmet i ever used.

  2. but don’t get me wrong, i despise the 4500 helmet with a passion

  3. How can you get the AHL decals?

Leave a Reply

